The Yankton Sioux Tribe has not officially banned South Dakota Governor Kristi Noem

Courtney Sully, tribal secretary with the Tribe, says it’s the tribe’s business and claims committee that supports a ban.  Sully says a ban would have to come from a vote of the tribe’s general council, and that has not happened.

Five other tribes have banned Noem: the Rosebud Sioux Tribe, Standing Rock Sioux Tribe, Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe, Oglala Sioux Tribe and Sisseton Wahpeton Sioux Tribe.


May 14, 2024